Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Lauren Beukes

@ Sunday Times Books LIVE

#Litmash at the Twitter Fiction Festival

I’m thrilled to be one of 20 writers participating in the Twitter Fiction Festival that kicks off today.

I’ll be running #Litmash, a Tweet-sized story writing-game that relies on incongruous genre/style literary mash-ups. Everyone can play!

#Litmash will run for an hour every day for the next five days, starting at 10am EST / 3pm GMT / 5 pm South African time.

I’ll put out the call for suggestions for incongruous and unexpected genre/author-style combinations. eg: RomCom / HP Lovecraft or Self Help / Haruki Murakami.

After 10-15 minutes of taking suggestions, I’ll pick my favourite idea for a mash-up, announce it, and then write a twisted Tweet-size tale to match.

It’s open to everyone, so please play along and write your own in 114 characters (plus the hashtags #twitterfiction #litmash). I’ll RT my favourite ones at the end of the hour or check out all of them by following the hashtag #litmash

For example, here’s a Rom Com in the style of HP Lovecraft:

“I love you” he said, brushing those cold fish lips with his. The Deep One gargled happily. Then she ate his face #twitterfiction #litmash

From Dreams of

It’s a fun and challenging writing game – and the more bizarre and whimsical and downright nuts the mash-up suggestions, the better.

I’m really looking forward to testing myself and, especially, reading other people’s #litmash stories!

Tune in at 10am EST/3pm GMT/5pm GMT+2 and play along. Follow me at @laurenbeukes or follow the #litmash hashtag.

And check out the other cool literary shenanigans going on as part of the Twitter Fiction Festival.

There’s a great overview at The Guardian.





Please register or log in to comment